teachingalchemy

One of my goals as a teacher is to show my students how to look into the material themselves, rather than just spout information at them. So I tend to focus on disputed points in the scholarship, especially stuff like the “Spiritual vs. Physical” Alchemy debate. Since this is an art class I don’t have an urgent interest in motivating my students to do hardcore history of science study of alchemy, but I do want to make them aware of how contemporary history of science is revealing many things about alchemy that are of great interest to students of art. So I try to ask my students as many questions as possible about why we are interested in alchemical art and what it means for our lives, as well as what it tells us about (magical or nonmagical) “operative practice” and artistic craft. Alchemy is a Theorist’s heaven and a…

View original post 67 more words

One response to “”

  1. otove says :

    Think this might be of some interest

Leave a Reply

