The Signatures of Nature and Change


Nature expresses it’self in the behaviours of Flora and Fauna, if we watch and wait, interesting patterns begin to emerge.  I wish to share with you my (small) study of Nature.

I began to notice that certain flowers are seen in the same environments. And after pondering over this for some time, I decided to take this curiosity further and after collecting lots of Wildflower data, and observing Natures display of signs and symbols, I came to this conclusion;

Flowers tell us the state, balance and underlying character of the soil, and hence the landscape they spring from. By studying wildflowers, the types that grow, their qualities and general mix in the landscape, one can tell as much about the soil as by chemical analysis.

Animals are able to read the landscape by eye , they know not to eat poisonous plants instinctually. What if there were other cues we could learn, a certain knowledge that Nature is expressing that we could understand if we had the eyes to see?

The following is a break down of my study, if readers disagree then please offer your ideas.

Blue flowers indicate: Moist soil

Yellow Flowers indicate : Cultivated / Heavily Tilled Soil/ Clay Soil/Low Fertility/ Full sun

Pink Flowers indicate: Uncultivated Soil and/or High Potassium content/High Fertility

Green Flowers indicate: Shade/ Non Annual

White flowers Indicate Alkaline Soil

Perennials indicateMoist soil / Low Nitrogen/

Neutral soil indicates full sun exposure. And full sun exposure generally indicates Moisture loving plants.

So, in short, the colours of flowers tell us something about the earth below them, and because plants are the first link in the chain of life , Flowers indicate the very health and fertility of all life.

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “The Signatures of Nature and Change”

  1. William says :

    I wonder if I could adapt that to alcohol consumption 🙂

    Kidding aside, that’s rather interesting really, I’m not into botony or anything but it is an interesting observation which could be quite useful to anyone into flowers and such.

  2. Resting In Awareness says :

    Blue flowers can also indicate acidic soil. Where I live, hydrangeas, which usually have pink flowers, have blue flowers because of this acidity.

    • otove says :

      From what little I know of Cultivated flowers, I gathered that Aluminium levels determined the balance of Anthocyanin’s in Hydrangeas?

      But you are right some cultivated flowers can change colour, and show very little about their soil. Im playing it safe, wildflowers are very consistent with their colouring.

      Thank you for pointing this out

      Otove

  3. Sensual-Animist says :

    Very compelling post, I will be observing, delving futher into this subject…

  4. narhvalur says :

    Very interesting with the fkower soils!

  5. petrel41 says :

    Hi, I think the relationship between flower colours and soil types is more complex than this. For instance, I know quite a lot of yellow flowers from moist soils, not heavily cultivated.

    Much depends also on Arctic/temperate/tropical etc. conditions.

    See, eg,

    http://www.jstor.org/discover/10.2307/2460262?uid=3738736&uid=2&uid=4&sid=21100832544431

    • otove says :

      Wow, that was complicated! i think you are right, it would seem that my study is quite simplistic. On average, if you check my date, there do however appear to be some correlations. Potassium rich plants are usually pink or red, or have pink fruit/flowers. a deficiency of potassium strangely, makes grasses red or purple.

      Will read through the journal fully later today,

      Thanks, Otove

  6. Jester Who-ver says :

    “A certain knowledge that Nature is expressing that we could understand if we had the eyes to see.”

    This is beautiful, and I’m glad to see you spreading this understanding. Observing nature has taught me much more about life than any academic undertaking I’ve involved myself with. Though academics has indeed taught me much about humans, the understanding of relations I’ve gotten from nature helps it all make sense. Nature thanks you Otove. As do I.

  7. Alex Jones says :

    Excellent article, well observed.

  8. happinessisnotadisease says :

    WOW…you’re like, a genius! I never had much tolerance for research and scientific observation and other genius things. 😦

Leave a Reply

