Roosevelt’ favourite riddle


I talk, but I do not speak my mind I hear words, but I do not listen to thoughtsWhen I wake, all see meWhen I sleep, all hear meMany heads are on my shouldersMany hands are at my feetThe strongest steel cannot break my visageBut the softest whisper can destroy meThe quietest whimper can be heard.

The answer is….

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Roosevelt’ favourite riddle”

  1. Arjuna says :

    Dear Fellow Blogger,
    I have the pleasure of nominating you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. If you choose to accept the award, please follow the link to my post, and follow the instructions there. If you choose not to receive awards, please know that your blog is appreciated.
    http://thewondrousdharma.com/2012/06/16/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  2. iarxiv says :

    My best guess was going to be ‘the wind’

    – “I talk, but I do not speak my mind” – wind howling, growling etc
    – “I hear words, but I do not listen to thoughts” – the wind can hear what others are saying, but not what they’re thinking
    – “When I wake, all see me” – when the wind is fully ‘awake’ its destruction can be seen all around us
    – “When I sleep, all hear me” – when the wind is asleep you can still hear it streaming by gently
    – “Many heads are on my shoulders” – you could argue that the wind has many heads, many faces, many temperaments
    – “Many hands are at my feet” – where the wind wrecks many hands are needed to fix the damage, where the wind blows at sea many hands are needed on deck
    – “The strongest steel cannot break my visage” – the wind cannot be broken by sword or spear
    – “But the softest whisper can destroy me” – hardest to justify, but by this point I thought maybe something to do with how the various pagan mythologies had gods of the winds that could quieten the air with a mere whisper.
    – “The quietest whimper can be heard” – the winds quietest whimper can be discerned in the dead of the night.

    I’m on the fence about whether ‘Actor’ fits better… buy I guess if Roosevelt thought so…
    🙂

    • otove says :

      Yeah, Again, as another poster said, it could be just the best guess yet, but i still prefer your interpretation, wind, and you some actors are full of so much of the stuff they as well be one and the same thing. lol Thanks for your interpretation.

      /Otove/

  3. Marsha J. O'Brien says :

    Johnny Depp? I just watched one of his his movies and I believe heard much more than the words simply said. I like the wind too.

Leave a Reply

