Go “walkabout”


Inspiring article by Alex Jones

Liberated Way

“The path is made by walking it.”

The filmmaker Nicolas Philbert in the Guardian introduced me to the saying “the path is made by walking it”, a French philosophy of going into the unknown with no map or idea of a final destination.  Philbert says:

“Basically I don’t know what I’m doing. I like to think I’m in control, but I’m not. We make films from our subconscious and there’s no way of anticipating what they will provoke in the minds of others.”

The Australian Aborigines have a concept of “walkabout” where as part of the rite of passage a young aborigine heads off into the wilderness in pursuit of the “songlines” of their ancestors. Jesus did an equivalent when he went into the Wilderness for 40 days and nights.

The French like Philbert produce considerable original creative output because of their “walkabout”.  The USA and UK place value on…

View original post 129 more words

4 responses to “Go “walkabout””

  1. Alex Jones says :

    Thanks for reblogging 🙂

  2. jessicawritesnow says :

    I knew everything suddenly when I admitted I live in a void of known nothingness.

    • otove says :

      ‘known nothingness’, thats a great expression!

      • jessicawritesnow says :

        I never intend on my “great expressions”. In order to kick one out of my brain I sit and t-h-i-n-k until the whole world looks laughable and unnatural. U know what that’s like? Kind of fun-it’s home-spun and demented fun!

Leave a Reply

